Ellyse Perry returns from injury as Australia names limited-overs squad for New Zealand tour

Ellyse Perry has been named in Australia’s 17-player limited-overs squad to tour New Zealand in March and April, marking her return from a serious hamstring injury.

Australia will take on New Zealand in three T20 internationals on March 28, 30 and April 1.

The two teams will then compete for the Rose Bowl Trophy in three ODI’s from April 4, with all three games taking place at Mount Maunganui.

Perry, who injured her hamstring in the Women’s T20 World Cup — missing out on the final at the MCG — headlines a strong squad, which will be captained by Meg Lanning.

Darcie Brown (South Australia) and Hannah Darlington (NSW) will likely make their debuts after being named in the squad for the first time.

Selector Shawn Flegler said the domestic form of the young players was key to their inclusion.

“Since the completion of our home series against New Zealand in October, the players have completed a full WBBL campaign, followed by a period of rest and recovery before reconvening for the beginning of the WNCL campaign,” Flegler said.

“Throughout that period the likes of Darcie Brown and Hannah Darlington have impressed us with their skill and professionalism, and we are delighted to reward them with selection in this squad.”

Tayla Vlaeminck will also return to the squad after injury.(AAP: Scott Barbour)

Flegler said 17-year-old Brown’s ability to bowl quick outswing was a key factor in both formats, while Darlington would mostly be looked at for the T20 matches.

Flegler also highlighted the return from injury of Tayla Vlaeminck, as well as Perry, as a key boost for the side.

“[Vlaeminck] has been working her way back to full fitness in the WNCL with Victoria and we’ve already seen some devastating spells from her,” he said.

“Similarly, Ellyse Perry has been making solid progress in her return from a hamstring injury and we look forward to her taking part in this series after not featuring against New Zealand in September and October.”

In October last year, Australia beat New Zealand 2-1 in their three-match T20I series at Allan Border Field in Brisbane.

New Zealand’s five-wicket victory in the third T20I arrested a 13-game winless run in all formats, however, the Kiwis could not build on that win as Australia steamrolled the visitors 3-0 in the ODI series.

With that 3-0 ODI series win, Australia equalled the world record for consecutive ODI triumphs, matching the 21 consecutive victories set by Ricky Ponting’s men’s team in 2003.

Australia has won nine-straight ODI matches against New Zealand and seven of the last eight T20Is.

Australia squad

Meg Lanning (Victoria, captain), Rachael Haynes (New South Wales, vice-captain), Darcie Brown* (South Australia), Nicola Carey (Tasmania), Hannah Darlington* (New South Wales), Ashleigh Gardner (New South Wales), Alyssa Healy (New South Wales), Jess Jonassen (Queensland), Tahlia McGrath (South Australia), Sophie Molineux (Victoria), Beth Mooney (Queensland), Ellyse Perry (Victoria), Megan Schutt (South Australia), Annabel Sutherland (Victoria), Belinda Vakarewa (Tasmania), Tayla Vlaeminck (Victoria), Georgia Wareham (Victoria).

*Debut tour.

Source link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2021 Australian Latest News.

To Top